Comic Character Creations! (SLJ)

Ciao everyone! This post is about the character creations for the SLJ! I drew a comic of the story The Emperor’s Seed. It was a bit challenging telling the whole story in a comic, but it was super fun doing the illustrations! Here is the comic and the link to the story if you want to read it as well. I added text using an image editor because the text wasn’t clear when I took the picture.

Link here

Comic here!

Here is the text if not clear:

First box:

In China… [Emperor] I need a heir! but I have no children. I will host a competition!

Second box:

[Emperor] I will give you each a seed. After a year, the best plant will win.

 

Third box: Ling’s mind is blown

 

Fourth box:

Ling waters his seed everyday..

Fifth box: But nothing happens..

 

Sixth box: 1 YEAR LATER

7th box:

The emperor looks..

8th box:

[Emperor] why is the pot empty?

[Ling] I watered it everyday but it did not grow.

9th box: [Emperor] THE WINNER! The seeds I gave out were all boiled!

The end!

Do you know what the moral of the story was?

See you in my next post!

 

 

One thought on “Comic Character Creations! (SLJ)

  1. Ciao Bhargavi,

    Manar here from the Summer Learning Journey Team.

    I agree summarising the entire story into only 9 slides is hard, but what helps me is figuring what the main ideas are, and including those. You have captured the main ideas of the story into your comic perfectly! This is a great story that teaches us all about the importance of patience and honesty, which are two very important morals everyone should have. What are the morals you learnt from reading this story and creating your comic? Are you going to bring your comic to life with amazing bright colours?

    Keep it up!
    Manar Mahmoud (SLJ)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *